Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Sly and the Family Stone - Stand! 1969

I was looking for some of the Sly Stone reissues. When I got the ones from 1995 for the LP's not previously on CD they only had one bonus track each. Figures that someone was sitting on more material. Stand! has pretty much always been in print but here for a limited time is last year's reissue. The first eight tunes are from the original release. The others are not.

1. Stand!
2. Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey
3. I Want to Take You Higher
4. Somebody's Watching You
5. Sing a Simple Song
6. Everyday People
7. Sex Machine
8. You Can Make It If You Try
Bonus tracks
9. Stand! (single version) (recorded February 27,1969)
10. I Want to Take You Higher (single version) (recorded 1969)
Previously unreleased tracks
11. You Can Make It If You Try (canceled single release) (recorded September 23,1968)
12. Soul Clappin' II (recorded January 3,1969)
13. My Brain (Zig-Zag) (instrumental) (recorded January 8,1969)


Anonymous said...

Pretty generous bonus material on this and Life eh? Thanks! I was looking for these very releases a while back...

Justice said...

Thank you sir!